Franchise Tag Frenzy

As the NFL hit its franchise tag deadline today, the final list of franchised players came in. List courtesy

  • Arizona Cardinals—DE Calais Campbell
  • Atlanta Falcons—CB Brent Grimes
  • Baltimore Ravens—RB Ray Rice
  • Chicago Bears—RB Matt Forte
  • Cincinnati Bengals—PK Mike Nugent
  • Cleveland Browns—PK Phil Dawson
  • Dallas Cowboys—LB Anthony Spencer
  • Denver Broncos—PK Matt Prater
  • Detroit Lions—DE Cliff Avril
  • Indianapolis Colts—DE Robert Mathis
  • Jacksonville Jaguars—PK Josh Scobee
  • Kansas City Chiefs—WR Dwayne Bowe
  • New England Patriots—WR Wes Welker
  • New Orleans Saints—QB Drew Brees*
  • New York Giants—P Steve Weatherford
  • Oakland Raiders—S Tyvon Branch
  • Philadelphia Eagles—WR DeSean Jackson 
  • San Francisco 49ers—S Dashon Goldson
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers—PK Connor Barth
  • Tennessee Titans—S Michael Griffin
  • Washington Redskins—TE Fred Davis

*Exclusive franchise player

Notable players not tagged are Houston Texans DE/OLB Mario Williams, Cleveland Browns RB Peyton Hillis, and Green Bay Packers QB Matt Flynn.

Many of these teams will now try to strike a long-term deal with these players, such as the New Orleans Saints with Drew Brees and the Chicago Bears with Matt Forte.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s